Herbal Med Resources

Herbal Medicine and Foraging

Herbal Medicine

Some Commercial Herb Brands

Foraging

Herbal Medicine for Animals

 

Herbal Medicine

A selection of Herbie websites – to get you started, but as ever there are many other valuable websites/relevant people I have missed out as I can’t possibly list all here! So it is always worth seeking out specialists in your local area, if all else fails a google search should do it!

Herb Mentor www.herbmentor.com Fantastic online resource with videos, ideas etc.. join for membership- worth it if you are serious about learning more about herbs but don’t want to do a professional course. Rich in content, most of which you will prob never get through even in a year!

The Herbal Academy https://theherbalacademy.com/ Another beautiful herbal learning website – similar to the above. Subscription – includes a wealth of info.

The Herb Research Foundation www.herbs.org/herbnews/ Famous (and rightly so!) A vast resource of medicinal herbs and everything relating to them- from science to practical tips to politics.

Mountain Rose Herbs http://mountainroseblog.com/ Blog from the outstanding herbal suppliers in the US

Henriette's Herbal http://www.henriettes-herb.com/ a legendary herbal website run by Henriette Kress, a herbalist in Helsinki, Finland. Though it can seem a bit messy to navigate don’t let this put you off as it is full of really valuable insights. A favourite among herbalists.

Herbgeek www.herbgeek.com Fabulous herby stuff by Herbalist Melanie Pulla. A beautifully laid out site- lots of book review, interviews with herbalists and general herb chat. Highly recommend.

Rosemary Gladstar http://www.sagemountain.com/ Rosemary has been called the ‘Godmother of American Herbalism’

James Duke http://www.medicinehunter.com/medicinal-plants World renown Ethnobotanist, based in the USA- he runs many ethnobotanical tours and is the author of many books. Having studied in the far corners of the world- working with various indiginous cultures- this man is an encyclopedia of information on all things plant related! Love his books. See the website prob more interesting to students)

Plant Healer Magazine http://planthealermagazine.com/ Written by American Herbalist Kiva Rose

Herbal Haven http://herbal-haven.co.uk/blog/ all about herbs, herbal folklore and links to other sites.

Rosalee de la Foret http://www.herbalremediesadvice.org/ Rosalee is a herbalist who teaches online courses on the ‘Herb Mentor’ website, this is her new website.

Tales of a Kitchen Herbwife http://kitchenherbwife.blogspot.co.uk/ Nice resource run by Gloucestershire based herb enthusiast. She runs workshops/training courses at Springfield Sanctuary.

Hope this has helped in making you feel more connected to the wider world of herbs and all the great herbal folk out there! Enjoy exploring

A Few Commercial Herb Brands (UK)

Herb Brands I like (UK) for other countries google ‘herb suppliers’ and make sure they are reputable companies. Practitioner only herbs are the best (need to get via a herbalist) However there are some commercial brands which are good:

Neals Yard Remedies http://www.nealsyardremedies.com/ NYR do a great range of dry herbs to make you own loose leaf tea blends and quality skincare. NYR also have herbal dispensaries for dry herbs and tinctures.

Napiers https://napiers.net/ great for herb tinctures, creams, loose teas etc… excellent quality. Made in Scotland from herbs grown in the UK where possible, high quality, practioner strength.

Baldwins http://www.baldwins.co.uk/herbs Stock a wide range of raw herbs and tinctures for home delivery - though I do prefer Napiers or NYR.

Viridian http://www.viridian-nutrition.com/ Ethical, quality, no additives and a British Company. Capsules and some tinctures – they are good quality but quite pricey compared to other brands. Then again, often you get what you pay for and when you compare a supplement to the price of a daily cup of coffee, it is comparably much cheaper.

Terra Nova http://www.terranovahealth.com/ American Company: ethical, quality, no additives- they do capsule formulations. Some great formulations.

Vogel http://www.avogel.co.uk/ Widely available tinctures and creams – good for a backup when you can’t see a herbalist. However I am not such a fan of the tablets which tend to have lactose and other additives.

Rio Health https://riohealth.co.uk/for sustainable South American Herbs

Pukka http://www.pukkaherbs.com/ brilliant- high quality supplements, ethical company. Again, can seem pricey but top quality supplements and when you calculate the daily cost it isn’t excessive.

Maharishi http://www.maharishi.co.uk/ index.html Ayurvedic Herbs

Foraging

The Botanical Society of the British Isles http://www.bsbi.org.uk/  info on plant sustainability, Plant Identification and courses on Field Skills.

British Phycological Society http://www.brphycsoc.org/index.lasso British Seaweed Identification Courses.

Food Foraging Courses http://foodforagingcourses.co.uk/ A nationwide directory for food foraging.

Forest Harvest http://www.forestharvest.org.uk/calendar.htm Forest Harvest Scotland has a useful Foraging Calendar and other Resources.

Homecheck http://www.homecheck.co.uk  allows you to search for info on the past use of land (important if you want to forage from urban wasteland for example)

The National Trust http://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/ owns many public areas – contact them if you want to forage regularly on their land- check what you can and can’t collect (they may or may not allow you- depending on what you want to collect).

Natural England www.naturalengland.org.uk  lots of resources, but it is also worth contacting them if you want to forage on their land- check what you can and can’t collect.

Fruit City www.fruitcity.co.uk A fruit tree map across London! See if there are any ‘Forage Fruit Maps’ in your City…

Wild Food School http://www.wildfoodschool.co.uk/ Marcus Harrison: Wild Food Expert– Marcus has over 35 years of experience and some of you may have seen him on ‘Countryfile’. Check out his youtube videos and books: http://www.wildfoodschool.co.uk/movietime.htm He also runs foraging courses in Cornwall.

Wild Food www.wild-food.net Hugh Fernleigh Whittingstalls website on foraged and wild food

Eat The Weeds www.eattheweeds.com blog by ‘Green Deane‘! Wonderful, fun & infomative site on wild herbs (or weeds). This is a popular foraging site.

Robin Harford Foraging http://www.foragingcourses.com/ Robin Harford runs Wild Food Courses around the UK. Also check out his other website: http://www.eatweeds.co.uk/ for tips and videos to watch.

Ray Mears http://www.raymears.com/ Obviously needs no introduction! He also runs a wilderness school in the UK.

Eat Wild http://www.eatwild.com a website dedicated to encouraging you to well... eat wild foraged foods! Jo Robinson champions wild foods and has written a book on how they are superior in nutrition to cultivated versions.

Fergus the Forager http://fergustheforager.co.uk/ Fergus is a Wild Food Educator who has appeared on several TV shows and runs courses on foraging- planning on living on only wild food for 1 year!

Fungi http://www.fungi.com Info on edible/medicinal mushrooms and cultivation.

Discover the Wild http://www.discoverthewild.co.uk/ Discover the Wild is a Lancashire based ‘Nature School’ with large variety of courses on offer.

Herbal Help for Animals

Herbal Vets http://www.herbalvets.org.uk/ Find a Herbal Vet near you- a growing body of Qualified vets who use herbs to treat their animal patients.

Alternative Vets https://www.alternativevet.org/ or http://www.alternativevet.org/herbs.htm A Resource for all matters holistic animal care!

Veterinary Herbal http://www.veterinary-herbal.co.uk

Animal Wellness Guide http://animalwellnessguide.com/ is a website with a focus on Animal Massage but it also includes info on a full range of Natural Therapies. Allows you to search for practitioners in your local area.

Hilton Herbs http://www.hiltonherbs.com/ I love these because they are made on a family farm in Surrey by a qualified medical herbalist!

Naturally Animals https://www.naturallyanimals.co.uk/ The first certified organic animal herb company – based in Surrey.

Dorwest Herbs http://www.dorwest.com/ Herbal Products for Dogs and Cats.

Global Herbs https://www.globalherbs.co.uk/ Herbs for horses

Healthspan https://www.healthspan.co.uk/shop/pet-health This British Supplement company also does a value natural petcare range: Vetvits (herbal med for pets and horses) though more nutrition focused.

Rose Therapy http://www.rose-therapy.co.uk/ Jo Rose is a holistic therapist with a passion for animal health. Also offers short courses.

Caroline Ingraham http://www.ingraham.co.uk/  'Zoopharmacognosy’

Dogs Naturally Magazine http://www.dogsnaturallymagazine.com/